Utah Ignition Interlock Laws
Utah law enforcement agencies take DUI offenses very seriously. Though the state is relatively sparsely populated, there were still over 7,000 DUI arrests in the state in 2008. The laws regarding DUIs in Utah are also extremely strict. Like most states the level of punishment is dependant on several factors, some regarding the BAC level at the time of arrest or if anyone was injured in a resulting accident. Previous arrests, especially for DUIs are also factors that weigh heavily in DUI sentencing.
First time DUI offenders must pay a fine of $700 and will have their driver’s license revoked for no less than 9 days. While community service can be used in lieu of jail time, an electronic monitoring system will be required. This can include an alcohol-detecting anklet. 2nd DUI offenders will be fine $800 and spend no less than 240 hours in jail (or 10 days). Their driver’s license will be suspended for at least 1 year although community service may lessen the period, which the license is revoked. 3rd time offenders will spend at least 1500 hours in jail and pay no less than $1500 in fines. After a sentence is complete, they will have a license suspension for an additional year.
Ignition Interlock devices can be mandated as a condition of probation by the courts. The term is up to the judge, but it will usually last exactly as long as the license suspension would have. If the defendant had a BAC of .16 or higher the court must order treatment and one or both of the following; ignition interlock system installation and home confinement through the use of electronic monitoring.
By using IIDs for DUI offenders, especially repeat offenders, the Utah legislature is able to help keep Utah highways safe. DUI offenders have a tendency to be repeat offenders. The worst offenders, the ones who offer kill innocent victims, are especially prone to repeating their behavior. drivers involved in fatal alcohol-impaired-driving crashes have been arrested previously for driving while intoxicated (DWI). In 2007, drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 grams per deciliter or higher in fatal crashes were eight times more likely to have a prior conviction for driving while impaired than were drivers with no alcohol (NHTSA, 2008a).
If you have been unfortunate enough to have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in Utah, Smart Start of Utah can help. Our technicians are specialists when it comes to IIDs and we can answer any and all questions you might have about the technology and hot it works. We are also experts in dealing with court ordered and motor vehicle department regulations. We know the ins and outs of process, know what forms the courts use and how to understand them and fill them out.
Contact Smart Start today in one of our Utah IID locations for help with the installation of your Ignition Interlock Device. We can make sure that you adhere to court ordered and motor vehicle appointed requirements, allowing you to get back on the road and back to living a more normal life. We are here to help you during this very trying time, fill out our online consultation form or call us today for more information at 800-880-3394.