New Jersey Ignition Interlock Laws
New Jersey has taken the problem of drunk driving on their state’s highways very serious. With over 25,000 DWI arrests in 2008 and hundreds killed each year in alcohol related auto accidents, it is no wonder. In an effort to curb the growing DWI problem in the state, the legislature has enacted some of the toughest DWI laws of any state in the country. Statutes like “John’s Law” which allows police to impound and even require forfeiture of your vehicle if you are found guilty of driving under the influence are examples of the types of laws that are being proposed, and approved, in New Jersey.
Most states do not require first time DUI offenders to have Ignition interlock devices installed. This is an option under current New Jersey laws, however. If a judge decides it is necessary, he can mandate that a DWI offender have an IID installed on their car for a period of 6 months after the mandatory license suspension has been served. Mandatory license suspension is 3 months for a first time DUI offender, 7 months to 1 year for a 2nd DUI offense and 10 years for a 3rd or subsequent Dui offense.
A first time offender with a blood alcohol content greater than .15 must have an IID installed on his or her vehicle. The device must remain on the car for 6 months after the license suspension period has ended. The license suspension period will be determined by the court, but ordinarily will be in the range of 3months to 1 years time.
Similarly, a DWI judge may mandate the use of IID for DUI offenders. Extenuating circumstances regarding the DUI case may contribute to this decision. Things like an especially high BAC or injury to innocent drivers during the alcohol related crash can make an IID requirement more likely. The device must be installed for the following periods:
1st offense: 6 months to 1 year.
2nd offense mandatory usage for 1 to 3 years
3rd or subsequent offenses – mandatory loss of license for 10 years
While IIDs keep innocent drivers on New Jersey highways safe, they also are a valued asset for OUI offenders trying to get their lives back on track. With an ignition interlock installed, OWI offenders can maintain employment, attend school, get treatment, and take care of family obligations—yet are prevented from driving if alcohol has been used. Offenders and their families benefit because they are not faced with the same transportation, financial, and legal consequences as offenders who do not have the option of installing ignition interlocks.
Smart Start of New Jersey is an approved vendor of Ignition Interlock Devices in the state. Whether you are enrolled in the first time offender program, or are a repeat DUI offender, our offices can help you adhere to the court and DMV rulings, helping to get you safely and securely back on the road. For more information on the locations of the IID technicians at Smart Start of New Jersey can help you separate drinking from driving, fill out our online appointment form or call us at 800-880-3394.