Kansas Ignition Interlock Laws
Kansas has enacted stringent DUI Laws and a new set of punitive measures for those drivers convicted of Driving Under the Influence in recent years. This is in large part due to the movement across the country to try and calm the surge of drunk driving deaths on our country’s highways on a yearly basis. Alcohol-impaired driving is near epidemic proportions in the United States, killing approximately one person every 40 minutes. Continued efforts by enforcement, the judiciary, advocates and governmental agencies to limit the scope and frequency of these incidents have proven unsuccessful, as illustrated by the nearly 13,000 people who were killed in alcohol-impaired-driving crashes in 2007 (NHTSA 2008a).
Researches have determined that the prevention of the act of impaired driving is critical to reducing alcohol-impaired-driving deaths and injuries. More than 1.46 million drivers were arrested in the United States in 2006 for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics. This number represents an arrest rate of one DWI arrest for every 139 licensed drivers in the United States (NHTSA, 2008b), a staggering figure.
By initiating Ignition Interlock requirements across the United States, legislatures and law enforcement officials have been able to limit the amount and frequency of alcohol related accidents, especially among repeat offenders. By requiring habitual DUI offenders to operate vehicles with Ignition Interlock Devices, the dangers that these drivers might otherwise pose is nullified. In an effort to stay at the forefront of this movement, Kansas has enacted the following laws regarding Ignition Interlock Devices:
First time Kasnas DUI offenders can have their driving privileges restricted to operating a motor vehicle for educational, employment and medical purposes for 3 to 12 months—or the court may opt to have the offender limit their driving to vehicles with Ignition Interlock Devices installed on them. This is left to the courts discretion and is usually reserved for the most serious of DUI accidents that involve especially high BAC (blood alcohol content) rates or substantial injuries.
Ignition interlock device use is required for one year after license reinstatement for second, third, or fourth time DUI offenders. It is also required for offenders with abnormally high blood alcohol content and those that have refused a test of the blood or breath following a DWI arrest. For a second offense, a person may apply for ignition interlock restriction after 45 days of license suspension.
Ignition interlock orders allow DUI offenders to continue working, paying taxes, supporting their families and contributing to society while staying within the legal licensing system. Monitoring drivers allows them to seek treatment and reduces overcrowding in jails. At the same time, it effectively counteracts the problem of drivers continuing to drink and drive with suspended licenses. Smart Start of Kansas has IID locations throughout the state is here to help those who need an ignition interlock device, and we are here to take your call at any time, day or night. Please call on us 24/7 at 1-800-880-3394. There’s no cost or obligation, you can also fill out our easy online appointment form.