Connecticut Ignition Interlock Laws
Connecticut is not exempt from the increasing problem of DUI’s on its state highways. With over 8,500 DWI arrests in the state, it is clear that Connecticut law enforcement is taking the DWI problem very seriously. Connecticut’s lawmakers are taking the problem seriously as well, and in recent years they have enacted many laws regarding the arrest and punishment of DWI’s.
Some of these laws are regarding the use of Ignition Interlock Devices for DWI offenders and the court’s discretion on when they may (or must) be used. According to Connecticut laws, any person who has been arrested for a violation may be ordered by the court not to operate any motor vehicle unless such motor vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlock device. By placing the Ignition Interlock Device requirement in the hands of the judges, Connecticut allows each DWI case to be viewed under its own circumstances.
Those individuals who are arrested for DWI, or charges like 2nd degree assault or manslaughter with a motor vehicle will be required by the court to operate vehicles equipped with Ignition Interlock Devices as a condition of bail release. Installation must be maintained for two years following the mandatory one year license revocation that occurs as a result of the DUI charges.
Admission into Connecticut’s Pretrial Pretrial Alcohol Education System may also require the installation of an IID. Multiple DUI convictions in Connecticut almost always result in IID requirements, especially if the conviction is based on impairment due to ingestion of alcohol. In those instances, the convicted must obtain an interlock permit for two years of a court ordered 3 year license suspension. A third DUI conviction requires a permanent DMV license revocation. Offenders who have been charged with DUIs as many as three times are eligible for application of a restricted driving license after a period of 7 years. In those instances where driving privileges are restored, the party will need to agree to having an Ignition Interlock Device installed for a period of 10 years.
While Connecticut may be unique in not having mandatory Ignition Interlock Device requirements in their DWI statutes, the state is far from ‘soft’ on DWI offenses. Connecticut has maintained stringent punishments for DWI offenders and law enforcement officials and judges alike have made it clear that they consider driving under the influence to be a very serious offense that has very serious consequences.
The latest studies have also found that the use of Ignition Interlock Devices helps recidivism among DUI offenders. install an IID for two years following a one year license revocation. Research shows that ignition interlocks, while installed on an offender’s vehicle, reduce recidivism among both first-time and repeat DWI offenders. More than 10 evaluations of ignition interlock programs have reported reductions in recidivism ranging from 50 to 90 percent, with an average reduction of 64 percent while the interlock is installed on the vehicle
Contact Smart Start To Get Started!
For more information on Ignition Interlock Devices in Connecticut, contact Smart Start today. Our installation technicians deal exclusively with Ignition Interlock Devices in your area and we have experience with the proper installation, monitoring, and removal of Ignition Interlock Devices. Whether you are installing an IID at one of our Connecticut locations in response to a Connecticut court order, a DMV requirement, or some other reason, Smart start of Connecticut can help! Call us today at 800-880-3394 or fill out our online consultation form.